Present members

Dr Jo Parker: Senior Research Associate

IMG_1244_v2Jo joined the group in 2011 as a senior research associate to develop and expand the biochemical characterisation of transporters. Previously Jo was a Principle Scientific Officer at Cancer Research UK’s Clare Hall laboratory where she developed biochemical assays to understand pathways linked to DNA damage tolerance. Jo is currently working on the nucleotide sugar transporters and proton coupled transport systems. ORCID 0000-0003-2964-2720.

Dr Gabriel Kuteyi: Research Associate

Gabriel joined the group in 2014 after completing his PhD with Professor Roslyn Bill at Aston University in Birmingham. Gabriel is currently developing methods for the overexpression of eukaryotic membrane proteins using mammalian and insect cell culture.

Dr Gurdeep Minhas: Post-doctoral Research Associate

Gurdeep joined the group in 2014 after completing his DPhil at the MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit at the University of Cambridge. Gurdeep is currently working on peptide and amino acid transporters. ORCID 0000-0003-4320-1243.

Mr Philipp Braeuer: Wellcome Trust Structural Biology DPhil student


Philipp is a Wellcome Trust Structural Biology DPhil student interested in structural studies of the KDEL receptor. Before beginning his project in the lab he worked briefly at the XFEL hub at Diamond. Philipp completed is BSc in Biochemistry at Imperial College London, during which he spent a year in the Lab of Esben Lorentzen at the Max Plank Institute of Biochemistry in Munich working on x-ray crystallography of proteins involved in intraflagellar transport in cilia. ORCID 0000-0003-4127-2638.

Mr Oliver Adams: BBSRC DTC DPhil student

PhotoOliver joined the Newstead lab in 2017 as a BBSRC Interdisciplinary Biosciences DTP student following a short Molecular Dynamics rotation with Dr.Philip Fowler (Nuffield Department of Medicine), by whom he is jointly supervised. His current research focuses on the structural characterisation of transporters involved in infectious disease, especially those from M. tuberculosis.

Mr William Wu: Wellcome Trust OxIon DPhil student

Having completed a BSc in Neuroscience at University College London, I came to Oxford to undertake a DPhil under the generous funding of the Wellcome Trust (OxIon). I’m interested in understanding the mechanism of membrane transport through computational and experimental approaches. I use molecular dynamic simulations and quantum mechanical calculations to probe the energy landscape of the ligand binding as well as the conformational change of transporter. I also tested the results functionally though transport assays and structurally using x-ray crystallography.

Mr Thomas Morgan: BBSRC DTC iCASE DPhil student

TmTom joined the Newstead lab in 2019, supported by the BBSRC DTC iCASE studentship. His current research area investigates the structure and function of NPF transporters. Before starting his DPhil, Tom completed his undergraduate masters (2014-2018) in Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry at Oxford, undertaking his final year research project investigating the interactions at the host-pathogen interface in Professor Susan Lea’s lab in the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology.